ShavingUniverse.com

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

Can I put an edge back on with an Arkansas stone?

thelucia4

I'm new to straight-razor shaving. I have two old straights: a small, nimble half-hollow & a wedge razor. They came perfectly honed, but I have since knocked off their edges by doing something wrong with my Arkansas stone.

I've tried on multiple occasions to get the edge back, but no matter how much time I spend, the razors are just downright unusable now.

My question: Can I keep trying to recover the edge on these razors with the Arkansas till I get it right, or do I need to do a rescue job with another hone and then return to the Arkansas to maintain that edge?

G

Welcome to Coticule .be Sir
I never tried an arkansas hone. May be the american mates Know better.
For my opignion you need a coticule and little experience to reset the edge shaveable.
Best regards
Emmanuel

danjared

Welcome to coticule.be!

Can you described what the edge is like? Does it pass the thumb nail test? Does it shave but not comfortably? (Do you have a loupe to inspect the edge with?) My best guess without any other information is that you accidentally raised the spine and dulled the edge.

Also, assuming this is a translucent Arkansas stone, do you use it with oil or water? And do you have any other hones to use? How smooth is the surface?

You can certainly maintain an edge with a translucent Arkansas stone (and a very nice edge at that, assuming the surface of the stone is smooth), but it takes a good, confident stroke, as you can easily cause damage to the edge with a single wrong stroke. The same goes for other stones, but Arkansas are very hard and unforgiving to mishap.