ShavingUniverse.com

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

Latigo or Horseside?

jfdupuis

Hey guys,

WHat do you recommend I use after honing? I have a VB 2' Web/Latigo strop and an old vintage Craftman Horseside strop?

Thanks!

JF

Fu@k knows? hahaha
I use 2 Dovo's one top of the range Linen and Leather (I think they call it Russian?)
And one smaller with a different Linen but they same leather

I always always use the top of the range one after honing 60 on the linen which has dovo white paste (Non cutting) on, then 60 on the leather (dead plain straight out the wrapper) the feel and draw on the Dovo strops is absolutely wonderful, IMO they are a real real pleasure to use, I have NO experience with any of the one you are asking about my friend, but if they out perform my Dovo's I would be utterly amazed.

It has a padded handle yeah, Mmm let me go check if its a Jemico?...........

It says "FEINSTES KERN-JUCHTEN Germany" on the top of the Leather?

Ok, do you know what the leather is mate? horse or cow etc? and what are them latigo I keep hearing about?

i think there cowhide i no they feel nice to strop on all the dovos that is. I have tm latigo they just have much more draw infact lots of draw i still prefer the feel of the dovos they have the right amount of draw but feel so smooth at the same time i prefer them when they hav'nt had strop dressing on them i think it takes away the valvety feel.