ShavingUniverse.com

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

My "first" coticule

jkh

Well, not really. I had a vintage coticule/BBW for a short period of time, but didn't take the time to learn how to use the stone. Needless to say, my results were not good, so I sold the stone. I have been using a set of Naniwa SuperStones and have come to hate how often they need de-swarfing/lapping and the amount of space the take up. I'm pretty new to honing, so I still have a lot to learn.

Enough blathering on, here are some pictures of my new Coticule. The dimensions are approximately 40mm x 175mm. I asked Bart to recommend a size and he suggested a 40mm wide stone - I couldn't be happier with the size.

Thanks to everyone for making this place such a wonderful resource.

P1000829.jpg

P1000830.jpg

P1000831.jpg

P1000833.jpg

It comes off the fast side of La Dressante.
The stone will serve you very well, Jeremy.:thumbup:

If you hate lapping and de-glazing synthetic waterstones, you will certainly enjoy a Coticule.

Keep us posted on your progress?

Kind regards,
Bart.

That looks very nice. I think one that I have is a dresssant or a nouvelle vein coticule. bart, you need to get cracking on that layer chart!

You will have a lot of fun with that. It is my favorite size as well. I even cut up my norton lengthwise to get that size.
Regards,
Mrmaroon

Bart said:
It comes off the fast side of La Dressante.
The stone will serve you very well, Jeremy.:thumbup:

If you hate lapping and de-glazing synthetic waterstones, you will certainly enjoy a Coticule.

Keep us posted on your progress?

Kind regards,
Bart.