ShavingUniverse.com

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

Unicot...

Andreas63

I’m glad to report that I finally succeeded with the Unicot method :lol: :lol:

I’m not a newbie to honing but it took some time to succeed…so with this post I’d like to help other coti-beginners in their struggle to reach the nice Unicot edge.

I know that there are a lot of very useful posts in the forum but I would like to write and report what I’ve learned so others may avoid my mistakes :):)

1)Read the instructions written by Bart…and follow them! So easy and so difficult at the same time :w00t: ! My biggest mistake: I’m not new to honing, (actually I’m a managing director for a big company that has grinding, gear cutting, gear shaving,and sharpening as core business)…then I have honed a lot of razors on Naniwa hones, so, I was thinking that I could do it my own way (only a little :blush: :blush: ). WRONG :scared: :scared: ! Follow the instructions very very strictly…Coticules and synthetics hones are not the same thing.

2)Start with a full hollow or an extra full hollow (I started with 1/4 and ½ hollows).

3)Learn the difference milky slurry/slurry. That’s very important. When I succeeded I saw the “milky wave” in front of the razor. Milky slurry is very different from a milky pulp…

4)If the instructions say “light pressure”, then it’s light pressure! Very very light.

5)“It’s not the arrow it’s the Indian”! 99.9% it’s nothing wrong with your coticule…do not buy another one until you can use and manage the one you own. I was thinking that something had to be wrong with my own, so I was tempted to buy another one. Wait and learn to use the coti you own first. Wait until you will get the “key to the magic code”.B)